Skip links and keyboard navigation

Queensland's cyclists faced strong competition at the Cycling Australia Road National Championships

16 January 2015

Queensland cyclists put up a fight against fierce competition from across the nation at the Cycling Australia Road National Championships held in Ballarat from 7 – 11 January 2015..

Queensland’s Shara Gillow tackled the rainy conditions to claim her fourth national crown in five years in the Elite Women Individual Time Trial. Shara kept 2008 national champion Bridie O’Donnell in her sights throughout the 29.3 kilometre course before overtaking the champion in the final metres (44 minutes 21.12 seconds).

By Saturday, the forecast rain held out for much of the day in Buninyong where the Women’s Road Race was held, allowing competitors to tackle the 102 kilometre course without hindrance.

Time trial champion Shara Gillow again finished on the podium, this time in 3rd place after managing to shake her chasing companions for a solo finish.

“I did try to go for it a few times but burnt up a little bit of energy. But I’m happy that I tried, so to get the bronze medal is great, “said Shara.

Unfortunately, medal prospect Katrin Garfoot was out of competition due to a knee injury.

Queensland’s Ellen Skeritt replicated Shara’s road race taking out the bronze in the U23 Women’s Road Race.

In the men’s competition, Queenslanders Adam Hansen and Jack Anderson both finished within the top 20 placing 8th and 13th place respectively in the Elite Men’s Road Race.

In the U23 Men’s Road Race, Daniel Fitter held a solo run for almost 10 kilometres until a determined chase group caught him the final climb resulting in a 6th place finish for the Queenslander.

In the same race, Sunshine Coast’s Ryan Cavanagh finished 4th and Nick Schultz in 5th place.

Last updated
16 January 2015