Skip links and keyboard navigation

Twelve Queenslanders named in the women’s national hockey squads

13 March 2015

Hockey Australia has announced 12 Queenslanders have made the women’s National Senior Squad and the National Development Squad.

The announcement comes ahead of various Olympic qualifying events this year in preparation for the Rio Olympic Games in 2016.

The women’s National Senior Squad includes previous national squad players from Queensland, Teneal Attard, Madonna Blyth, Kirstin Dwyer and Jodie Kenny.

In addition, eight Queenslanders were announced in the women’s National Development Squad which includes Murphy Allendorf, Stephanie Kershaw, Jacqui Day, Madison and Savannah Fitzpatrick, Jordyn Holzberger, Audrey Smith and Renee Taylor.

Queensland’s Madison, Stephanie and Renee are three of the four new faces on the team and have each been awarded scholarships to participate in a centralised training program in Perth, alongside the National Senior Squad.

The teams will now prepare for the upcoming Hawke’s Bay Festival, an eight-nation tournament held in New Zealand from 11–19 April 2015.

The Hockeyroos will then have two opportunities to qualify for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio—either a top three finish at the FIH World League Semi Final tournament in Belgium in June or a win at the Oceania Cup in New Zealand in October.

Selections for the national squads were made by Hockey Australia based on performances in the 2014 Australian Hockey League, preparation for the 2014 Champions Trophy and performances at the competition, Hockey Australia’s national junior camp on the Gold Coast in December 2014 and the national ‘super camp’ held in Perth in February 2015.

For a full list of the squads visit the Hockey Australia website.

Last updated
13 March 2015