Skip links and keyboard navigation

QAS athletes secure gold on day one of Athletics nationals

27 March 2015

QAS athlete Carlee Beattie in full flight at the 93rd Australian Athletics Championships.

QAS athlete Carlee Beattie in full flight at the 93rd Australian Athletics Championships.

The 93rd Australian Athletics Championships opened at the Queensland Sport and Athletics Centre (QSAC) on 26 March with typical sunny and humid South Queensland weather. A hint of a storm late afternoon provided tension, but thankfully avoided the area.

The conditions clearly didn’t hinder athletes’ concentration as Alberto Campbell (T/F20) claimed first success of the meet for QAS athletes with a 50.72s run in the first round of the men’s 400 metres (ambulant) race. This puts him in good stead for the final on the night of 27 March.

In the men’s triple jump, Tetteh Anang successfully qualified for a spot in the finals on Saturday night with a  jump of 15.73m. Tetteh was placed third behind Victorians Alwyn Jones and Alex Lorraway.

Dressed to impress in her fluoro kit, Carlee Beattie (T47/F46) claimed our first gold for the meet in the women’s long jump (ambulant) final. The success came on the back of a jump of 5.46m (97.20%), beating New Zealand’s Anna Grimaldi (5.25m, 89.13%).
Not long after, Rheed McCracken (1:54.28, T36 class) followed suit and won gold from New South Wales’ own Kurt Fearnley (1:45.09, T54 class) in the men’s 800m wheelchair final.

With day one proving successful for QAS athletes, no doubt day two will provide continued success and entertainment with the likes of Matthew Denny, Robbie Crowther and Sally Pearson set to compete.

Athletics Australia is providing live results for the entire meet.

Friday 27 March events include:

  • 12:15pm Women’s Discus Throw Qualification—Kirsty Williams
  • 3:30pm Women’s Long Jump Qualification—Valeria Zavyalova
  • 4:00pm Men’s Hammer Throw Final—Matthew Denny
  • 4:30pm Women’s 800m 1st Round—Brittany McGowan
  • 5:00pm Men’s Long Jump Qualification—Robbie Crowther and Henry Fayne
  • 5:54pm Women’s 100m 1st Round—Sally Pearson
  • 6:15pm Men’s 100m—Andrew McCabe
  • 6:55pm Men’s 400m Wheelchair Final—Matthew Cameron and Sam Carter
  • 7:02pm Men’s 400m Ambulant Final—Alberto Campbell
Last updated
27 March 2015