Skip links and keyboard navigation

Hockey national team announcements see Queenslanders selected

13 October 2016

In the last 24 hours Hockey Australia has made some women’s national team announcements which has seen several Queenslanders selected in a testament to the recent performances of our players.

The most recent result for the Queensland Scorchers, winning the 2016 Australian Hockey League title, has capped off a great year for the state’s women’s program. Proudly, the Queensland women’s under 21, under 18, under 16 schoolgirls and under 15 teams have also won their respective national title for 2016. An awesome achievement.

Deservedly, four Queensland athletes were selected on the Australian under 21 World Cup Team including Madison Fitzpatrick, Rebecca Greiner, Rosie Malone and Renee Taylor. The World Cup will be contested in Santiago, Chile from 23 November to4 December. A fifth player, Steph Kershaw, was almost certain to be named as well, but was unfortunately unavailable for selection due to ongoing recovery from an injury.

The Hockeyroos teams for the Trans-Tasman Series and International Festival of Hockey have also been announced.

Six Queenslanders have been selected in the 18 player squad that will compete in a three-match test series against the New Zealand Black Sticks from 17 – 20 November. The players named include two debutants, Murphy Allendorf and Ashlea Fey with Audrey Smith selected as the second keeper for this series. Jacqui Day, Kirstin Dwyer and Jordyn Holzberger have also been named on the Hockeyroos squad.

Five of those athletes will then head to the International Festival of Hockey in Melbourne to play against India. Players selected to take to the field in the series from 23 – 30 November include Murphy Allendorf, Ashlea Fey, Jacqui Day, Kirstin Dwyer and Jordyn Holzberger.

Congratulations to all of the players named on these national representative teams, it is a great achievement!

Last updated
13 October 2016