Skip links and keyboard navigation

QAS swimmers make a splash at shortcourse national championships

30 October 2017

QAS athlete Emily Seebohm arriving on the blue carpet at the Swimming Australia Gala awards night. (Photo credit: Swimming Australia Ltd)

QAS athlete Emily Seebohm arriving on the blue carpet at the Swimming Australia Gala awards night. (Photo credit: Swimming Australia Ltd)

From Cate Campbell breaking the 100m World Record to Emily Seebohm winning an unprecedented 25 National Short Course titles, QAS Swimmers were certainly out to prove a point at last week’s Hancock Prospecting National Short Course Championships.

With less than six months until the Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast, many swimmers used this meet as an opportunity to fine tune their skills and practice their race plans ahead of a big summer of racing. Whilst many of them are in a hard block of training, the results streamed in right throughout the week in a range of events.

On night one it was Cate Campbell’s time to shine. After a prolonged break post Rio, a refreshed Cate hit the pool deck for the 100m Freestyle with nothing to lose. Not knowing what to expect, she went out and blitzed the field, breaking the World Record in a time of 50.25 seconds - to take 0.33 seconds off the previous short course world mark set by Swedish superstar Sarah Sjostrom in August.

“She’s back!” said an excited Campbell after the race.

“And it’s exciting, it’s great to be swimming fast. I’ve put together some really good solid weeks of training and I’ve really been working hard.

“It’s great to see it’s really starting to pay off.

“There were a couple of times (when) I came back into training and I was thinking ‘oh man it’s a long way back.’

“But the body remembers and I’ve been doing this for a long time and taking a year off this year is the best thing I’ve ever done.

“I’ve come back refreshed and I've got a new love for the sport, a new perspective and I’m more motivated than ever for the Commonwealth Games.

To add to this, Cate went on to break the 50m Freestyle Commonwealth record a few nights later, which was just 0.26s outside of the World Record set in August this year. The podium was rounded out by Queenslanders Shayna Jack and Bronte Campbell.

Not to be outdone, Emily Seebohm had a huge weekend of racing, winning her 25th National title, eclipsing Matt Welsh’s previous record. As the current 200m Backstroke World Champion, Emily challenged herself by competing in a range of events throughout the meet and her results spoke for themselves.

“I didn’t really come into this (meet) with a goal of getting more National Short Course titles,” said Seebohm. “I came here for some hard training and you saw that last night when I did over one kilometre in racing which is unusual for me, but it definitely helps toughen you up. “It’s good to come here and do some stuff you don’t normally do and I guess to experience another level of fatigue and tiredness; it is definitely hurting me today but it’s all part of the game”

However, these records were put aside when 17-year-old Minna Atherton beat Emily, who is her training partner, in the 50m Backstroke, stealing her Australian All-Comers record along the way. The future is certainly looking bright for swimming in Queensland!

Following the meet, the swimmers swapped their bathers for ball gowns and attended the Swimming Australia Gala awards night. Queenslanders dominated the awards taking home 11 of the 16 awards on offer.

Queensland Winners

  • Olympic Program Swimmer of the Year: Emily Seebohm (Brisbane Grammar)
  • Paralympic Program Swimmer of the Year, Rowan Crothers (Yeronga Park)
  • Hancock Prospecting Swimmer’s Swimmer of the Year: Emma McKeon (Griffith University).
  • Open Water Swimmer of the Year: Chelsea Gubecka (Kawana Waters)
  • Short Course Swimmer of the Year: Mitch Larkin (St Peters Western)
  • Hancock Prospecting Olympic Program Coach of the Year: David Lush (Brisbane Grammar)
  • Hancock Prospecting Paralympic Program Coach of the Year: Rob Van Der Zant (Yeronga Park)
  • Open Water Coach of the Year: Michael Sage (Kawana)
  • Youth Coach of the Year: Dean Boxall (St Peters Western)
  • Mrs. Gina Rinehart Patron Awards: Lakeisha Patterson, Emma McKeon
  • AIS Discovery of the Year: Shayna Jack (Commercial)

 *quotes provided by Swimming Australia Limited.

Last updated
30 October 2017