Skip links and keyboard navigation

Mark Knowles announced as 'The Don' award nominee

9 October 2018

Sport Australia Hall of Fame recently announced Mark Knowles as one of eight shortlisted candidates for ‘The Don’ Award.

The recently retired Kookaburras captain was named among the all-star field of finalists which includes: Madison de Rozario (athletics), Kurt Fearnley (athletics), Sam Kerr (soccer), Lauren Parker (triathlon), Ellyse Perry (cricket), Will Power (indy car) and Daniel Ricciardo (formula 1).

‘The Don’ is the most prestigious and highly sought-after sporting award presented annually and named in honour of the late Sir Donald Bradman. The award will be presented to the athlete who has most ‘inspired the nation’ with their sporting achievements and continues to promote the values of courage, sportsmanship, integrity, mateship, persistence, and excellence.

This year Mark not only led the Kookaburras to their sixth consecutive Commonwealth Games gold medal, but was also named as the Australian Flag Bearer for the Games’ Opening Ceremony. His sensational career has also seen him win an Olympic gold medal (2004), two Olympic bronze medals (2008, 2012), two World Cup titles (2010, 2014) and four Commonwealth Games gold medals (2006, 2010, 2014, 2018).

Should Mark be announced as the lucky recipient of ‘The Don’ Award, he will join an elite and exclusive group of Australian sporting legends who have been awarded the honour in previous years. This includes; Ian Thorpe, Cathy Freeman, Pat Rafter and Grant Hackett.

‘The Don’ Award will be presented at the Sport Australia Hall of Fame 34th Induction and Awards Gala Dinner on Thursday 11th October at Crown, Melbourne.

Last updated
9 October 2018