Skip links and keyboard navigation

Paralympic Gold Medallist takes home 2018 Peter Lacey Award for Sporting Excellence

29 November 2018

Paralympic Gold medallist, Simon Patmore has been announced as the 2018 Peter Lacey Award for Sporting Excellence winner. 

The Winter Paralympian was announced as the recipient at the 24th Annual Queensland Sport Awards ceremony held at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre on 28 November. 

QAS Board Chair, Bronwyn Thompson said Patmore was deemed a fitting recipient following his history-making performances at the 2018 Paralympic Winter Games and ongoing commitment to the community. 

“Simon is truly an inspirational athlete who undoubtedly reflects the same qualities and values which the late Peter Lacey was so well-known and respected for.”

Ms Thompson said the Peter Lacey Award for Sporting Excellence was named after the surf lifesaving legend who claimed 4 World Championship titles and 18 National titles throughout his career. With the inaugural trophy being presented in 1998. 

“Simon is the 20th Peter Lacey Award winner, joining an elite and very exclusive team of Queensland athletes who have won this award in previous years. 

“Past winners include; Susie O’Neill, Libby Trickett, Stephanie Rice, Emma Moffatt, Sally Pearson, Cate Campbell, Mark Knowles and Curtis McGrath,” she said.

QAS Executive Director Bennett King said Simon is a commendable recipient of the Peter Lacey Award for Sporting Excellence. 

“As do all of the previous winners, Simon epitomizes sporting excellence and embodies the spirit, sportsmanship and determination of Peter Lacey.

“Simon’s years of hard work and unfailing commitment to his sport is what drove him to be crowned the men’s Paralympic Snowboard Cross SB-UL champion.”

Mr King said there is no greater honour for a QAS-supported athlete and that the remaining seven nominees each deserve a special mention for their outstanding efforts this year.

“Skye Nicolson (boxing), Lakeisha Patterson (para swimming), Emily Seebohm (swimming), Mark Knowles (hockey), Curtis McGrath (para canoeing), Brenden Hall (para swimming) and Cate Campbell (swimming) were each nominated for the award based on their success at the most elite level of sport and the charitable role they play within the community.”

Last updated
29 November 2018