Skip links and keyboard navigation

The Kookaburras claim the Pro League title and Hockeyroos finish runners-up

3 July 2019

The FIH Pro League has wrapped up after a gruelling six week-long world tour. Both Australian teams went the full distance of the tournament securing their place in the grand finals with the Kookaburras winning the title.

The final matches took place in Amstelveen, Amsterdam amidst a widespread heatwave throughout Europe.

The Kookaburras played Belgium in the final and Australia didn’t mess about, getting off to a flying start, they scored three goals in the first half. The Belgians came back in the second half scoring two goals which proved not to be enough as the final buzzer sounded. The Kookaburras held their nerve in the final stages to claim the inaugural Pro League title and the world number one ranking. A solid tournament for the Kookaburras saw them finish on top of the points table.

The night before, the Hockeyroos faced the Netherlands who were leading the points standings with only one loss throughout the tournament. Set for a tough final, the Hockeyroos came out fighting and scored the opening goal in the second quarter which was shortly followed by a goal from the Dutch to equalise. Pushing the Netherlands all the way, Australia scored a late goal in the match brining the score to two all forcing a penalty shootout for the title. In a tense shootout, the Netherlands claimed the Pro League title by winning 4-3 with Australia finishing second. The Hockeyroos team had an incredible tournament, one to be proud of which moved them up to second in the world rankings.

Queenslander Hockeyroo players

  • Jodie Kenny
  • Madison Fitzpatrick
  • Stephanie Kershaw
  • Rosie Malone
  • Rebecca Greiner
  • Savannah Fitzpatrick
  • Renee Taylor

Queensland Kookaburra players

  • Jake Whetton
  • Daniel Beale
  • Tim Howard
  • Dylan Wotherspoon
  • Matthew Swann
  • Jacob Anderson
  • Corey Weyer
Last updated
3 July 2019