Skip links and keyboard navigation

2019 Peter Lacey Award for Sporting Excellence winner announced

3 December 2019

Ariarne Titmus was named the 2019 Peter Lacey Award for Sporting Excellence winner at the 25th Annual Queensland Sport Awards ceremony on Saturday November 30.

Following her sensational year in the pool and ongoing contribution to her sport and the community, Ariarne was deemed a very worthy and deserving recipient of the Academy’s most prestigious award.

The accolade was named in honour of the late surf lifesaving legend and QAS founding father, Peter Lacey who amassed 14 World Championship titles throughout his career.

This year’s FINA World Championships in Gwangju proved to be a highlight for Ariarne as she was crowned the new champion of the women’s 400m Freestyle, was part of the women’s 4x200m Freestyle relay team who won gold and set a new WR, and claimed a silver and bronze medal respectively in the women’s 200m and 800m Freestyle events.

In concurrence with her busy training and competition schedule, Ariarne also managed to find time to continue her ambassador role with the Eloise Gannon Foundation and give back to the swimming community by hosting a number of clinics for younger swimmers.

In light of her achievements this year and like all previous Peter Lacey Award winners, Ariarne epitomises sporting excellence and embodies the spirit, sportsmanship and determination of Peter Lacey. Congratulations, Ariarne!

We also congratulate Aly Bull (canoe sprint), Curtis McGrath (para canoe), Jake Whetton (hockey), Lakeisha Patterson (para swimming), Mat Belcher & Will Ryan (sailing) and Simon Patmore (para snowboard) on having achieved great success at the most elite level of sport this year.

Last updated
3 December 2019